Raising Dragons

Two weeks ago I had an intense week. There was a shooting, there were political battles as a result of the shooting. Donald Trump still is running for president. Some friends had various personal crises.

It’s moments like this that make you realize that life is too short to do things that don’t bring you joy. But the long and short of it is that I’ve decided to leave my occupation and start a new career in ranching.

This is returning to my roots in some ways. My dad raises cattle and grows alfalfa. He has raised sheep and various crops in the past. My grandfather raised and traded horses. My great-grandfather had a farm including dairy cows.

But I don’t want to just live in the past, well maybe I do, but not the recent past. But my point is that I don’t want to do things the way they’ve always been done. I want to take on impossible tasks. I’ve shared my idea with some, and they ask, “Why? It’s impossible.” I look at the impossible and say, “Where do we start?”

So my dream is to start a ranch for dragons. I recently started an Indiegogo campaign hoping to raise the funds I need to purchase my first dragon. I thought about the idea and sat down to draw up a solid plan to establish myself in the business of dragon husbandry, and definite steps to expand my business.

IMG_7271
Dreaming of Dragons

You’d think that getting into raising dragons would be a simple matter of getting a couple and letting them do what comes naturally, but life is never that easy. Dragons can be pretty picky about their partners. It’s also hard to run the bureaucratic mazes needed to comply with regulations of the Department for the Regulation and Control of Magical Creatures.

But I’m not a quitter, and I will reach my dreams, despite the scorn and derision from those who claim that dragons don’t exist. Just because something is fantasy, doesn’t mean it’s not real! Yes, I’m looking at you, dear wife.

Anyway, take a look at the campaign. If it makes you smile, then the world’s a better place. Just think how much matter it will be once we bring dragons back from the brink of extinction.

Leave a Reply

